Cooking 101 and Freezer meals

RoseMeg451

So, I am a super novice in the kitchen- any good recources for learning the basics? The new Whole30 book is definitely helpful- especially the perfect - section- but there are still some holes- emulsify???

Also, I want to make some meals ahead of time and freeze them- like chicken chowder, sweet potato soup, or Melissa's sweet potato hash- so if I need an in-between meal (breastfeeding mommy :-) ) I can grab something out of the freezer and heat it up if I don't have any leftovers. What is the best way to reheat things- especially non-soup meals- other than nuking it in the microwave?

• Moderators

You can use google to learn how to cook... and to learn what words mean in a recipe.

There is nothing wrong with using a microwave to reheat or cook food. The scary stuff said on the internet is pretty much nonsense. That said, I did not own a microwave years ago and learned that I could make a plate with food from the refrigerator and heat it up in my oven. I set the oven to about 300 degrees and put the plate with food on a rack and checked every few minutes to see if the food was hot yet.

Another way to work with refrigerated food is to heat it in a large skillet or wok. I often prepare a roast with tomatoes and carrots in a slow cooker. A roast might provide 8-10 servings of meat. When I am ready to eat, I often cook some chopped onion and wilt some fresh greens and then add roast, tomatoes, and carrots from the refrigerator. 

I like making Shepard's Pie in individual Pyrex dishes. You can bake in them, freeze them and then defrost either in the microwave or the oven. It's an easy dish to make and is delicious even after being frozen. I use mashed cauliflower for the topping but some paleo recipes use mashed sweet potatoes. Whatever you prefer. In the veggie layer I include spinach to get more veggies in. You can pretty much put whatever veggies you want but the standard ones are carrots, celery, onions and mushrooms.