May 17 - start of my Whole 30

wholemango

I decided to do the Whole30 and complete it that I need some accountability and support. I've tried it on my own before and I didn't complete it.  I am not a big protein/meat eater. I have always had vegetarian tendencies and rely on lots of fruit. And nuts...  I realize properly doing the Whole30 isn't eating half a jar of almond butter in a day. (I think that stuff evaporates?!)

Tomorrow's Sunday May 17. I'll be starting my morning off with eggs. I do love eggs...probably the one food I could eat at every meal, thank goodness. 

So I'll be posting meals and I appreciate support.

My goals: Minimize nuts/nut butter to 1 serving/day and to eat fruit with my meals. No dried fruits (see ya later dates!).

Also goals:

- eat good enough meals to eliminate blood sugar crashes and the constant need for a 3pm snack. 

- cook some new foods

- rely less on sugary/starchy foods

- get rid of the 3pm cravings for all-the-fruit/carbs

- perhaps lose the 6 lbs I gained from not running due to an injury for five months...stubborn lbs.

Morning - 2 whole eggs (olive oil cooking spray) and watermelon, coffee black

Run - 11 mi (1:30:00) easy long run day and I felt great --maybe some residual energy from all the raisins I ate yesterday?

I ate half of a banana and 1 TBSP almond butter and a pickle and then mowed the lawn for 1 hr.

Mid-day- not that hungry (long runs do that to me), attempted to eat some cabbage sauteed with chicken sausage (just spices and salt, no sugar/non-compliant stuff) and the other half of the banana...2 hrs later I was starving...see below:

Afternoon - should have had more of the cabbage lunch, but I had some raw cashew bits/pieces (1/4 cup?) and baby carrots with the raw almond butter (1TBSP), drank some water, stopped snacking and did some gardening.

Dinner (will be) - pickle, watermelon, white fish grilled (flounder), greens, balsamic vinegar, buttercup squash slices roasted.