Potatoes vs. Other Night Shades

phillup

Yep, I get it. It is arbitrary.

But, then you go and mention that it is a nightshade. As if that is important.

So, I guess my question would be: why are we allowed to eat other nightshades?

(Or, did I miss the part where we aren't supposed to be noshing down on tomatoes and bell peppers in a salad?)

TIA!

I'm not a doctor so take my medical comments for what they're worth...For whole30, the issue with white potatoes is not necessarily that they're a nightshade as much as they are a very starchy carbohydrate dense food. Part of the goal of the whole30 is to get some of your insulin responses in check and eating white potatoes when there is not a glycogen store need (like needing a hit of carbs to restore after a high intensity workout) can run things a little bit awry. There is a time and place in nutrition for foods like potatoes but for this "reset" they're best left out. Some people have a negative response to nightshades in general including things like arthritic inflammation or autoimmune responses. Unless you are having arthritis issues or have an autoimmune issue most nightshades are fine.

I'm not a doctor or part of the Whole 9 team, but what I've found is that not allowing white potatoes forces me to find more nutrient dense veggies to help fill the plate. When I'm not Whole30-ing, I let white potatoes back in, but I notice that they tend to take the place of greens, etc.