Whole30 and food addictions.

sugaraddict83

Hi, I'm new to this so let me go ahead and give you a bit of history.  In the past 3 weeks I've started and fallen off the program about 5 times.  I thought this would be a great way to clean up my diet and start leading a more balanced nutritious life.  What I didn't realize was that my compulsive behavior with food had started to resurface and this would push me over the edge. 

I have a hard time with the notion of perfection.  I've lived my life with the whole all or nothing approach and thats what fueled my compulsive eating in the first place.  I thought the Whole30 might be a solution to that, what I did not realize is that it would act as a trigger to further exasperate my compulsive behavior.  I've really been working on myself emotionally and was hoping this would help but the tough love approach doesn't work for me.  The idea of all or nothing brings out crippling fear within me, it send me down a spiral of deprivation and shame.  Today is the 2nd day of my 5th attempt at the Whole30 and after obsessively thinking of sugar I decided that I would again go on a bender tonight and then start Day 1 all over again tomorrow.  But I was so sick of that, starting and restarting all over again! Till I got online and started researching eating disorders and the Whole30 and when I came across what Melissa and Dallas wrote about it being hard and taking it one step at a time I started to cry. 

It is hard, no one really tells you that.  I realized the rigidity of the Whole30 wasn't a possibility at this stage in my life.  I was all but about to give up but I feel so empowered after reading what they wrote and other peoples comments too.  I've decided I'm going to take it one day at a time and if I happen to stray a little I won't restart over, I'm making a promise to myself to complete the whole30 to the best of my ability.

From one fellow sugar addict to another - this IS hard.  It is waaay hard.