July 1st Whole30

i am new to this and hope that this is the answer for me.  I have gained so much weight the last few years, I stay bloated and miserable.  I think I may start slowly cutting things out of my diet all the way up to july 1st when I start whole30. 

Im trying to talk my bestfriend into doing this with me so I will have someone to cry to.  She has so many health issues particularly with her gut.  I think this could be her answer

This is exactly where I was before I started, so I really get where you're coming from.  I decided on April 1 to do this, but since I had a wedding and then a 10 day honeymoon to babysit for in early May, I wanted to wait until I was back home to begin.  I officially started on May 17, but as of the first week of April I gave up all diet soda, and drank only water and hot or iced herbal tea.  Once the horrors of that died down, (headaches, body aches, horrible moods), I started cutting out processed, sugary foods.  I just cut a little bit out at a time.  I feel like it really helped me not to become overwhelmed once I did finally start.  I had eaten so badly for so long that I really think if I had tried to go cold turkey on everything at once, I would just have been setting myself up for failure.

It was still a bit difficult in the beginning, but I found it relatively easy to keep going.  Unfortunately on day 15 (May 31), I discovered I had ingested some carrageenan sometime in the last week, soooooo...  I started over on June 1.  That was tough, but I was committed and determined to stay the course.  In fact,  am continuing on to July 15 because I feel I need the extra time to set my new habits and really evaluate all my food allergies/sensitivities.