My Whole 30 Lessons!

Christine Brock Bloch

Today is day 29.. so I am a little early, but I have no intention of falling off the wagon tomorrow.. or even on day 31 or 50. I learned so much from this experience. I am newly married and shortly after our wedding, we moved cross country for his job. I found myself having a hard time finding a job therefore meeting new people.. so I started cooking and baking. My 4th batch of triple chocolate chip cookies (it was ok, they were healthy because I used whole wheat flour.....) I decided I needed to focus on something else.. like being more healthy. I knew not finding a job (I am a teacher and I love my job) was really hard for me and my feelings were being expressed in chocolate. I ordered the book and the next day I gave my husband the news.. we are going whole30!

It was the prefect time, because I could prep all the meals so I was still having fun during the day. I do enjoy cooking. Pretty soon, this Whole30 became natural. We even went on a long weekend to visit friends... we brought our own food!

Here is what I learned:

I don't need a drawer full of chocolate to get me through a day

I feel better when I am upset if I workout or go for a run. It helps me way more than chocolate, beer or wine.

I don't need to pasta or bread to feel full.

When I don't eat grains, legumes, dairy, or sugar, I never get the uncomfortable full feeling and have to unsnap my jeans.

I like frozen blueberries.

I like banana ice cream.

I love eggplant parm. with farm fresh meat hold the cheese and pasta.

A salad can be made a thousand ways.

Homemade mayo and ranch taste so much better.

When you eat out, you are putting your health in a stranger's hands. You have no idea what your food is being cooked it. Ask a million questions and send food back until it is right.

I don't feel bad for me because I can't eat dairy, sugar, grains, legumes. I feel bad for others who don't know what real food is.

My clothes fit better.