Will fruit be my downfall?

I love fruit. Like, looooove it. I don't even crave or desire any other sweets or anything off-plan. But fruit... that's another story.

I know that it's recommended to have a moderate serving with meals, or even as a rare snack (mini-meal) so long as it is not eaten alone. 

Today I was grocery shopping, and I couldn't help but buy some bananas, apples, raspberries, blueberries, and peaches. Not all for me, I do have a family that likes it too. But I pushed my cart out of the store feeling shame, because I know I will not even be able to resist indulging, especially at night. Like, 2-3 pieces of fruit. I know this sounds bad or weird, but my addiction to fruit is my Whole30 secret shame. I literally crave it, and nothing else.

Am I being too hard on myself? Do you have any thoughts or ideas about overcoming the need for fruit?

(This is my first time posting, please be gentle. :) 2nd round, day 15)

Ok, can you start by finding a more positive perspective to hold about fruit? There is no need to punish yourself with shameful feelings. How would you treat your best friend in the same situation?

Use the Whole30 to experiment with having fruit not out of habit, but only as part of meals and when genuinely hungry as part of a snack with at least some fat and/or protein.

• Moderators