Just finished my first Whole30!

Brookelh

Today is day 31! I have an immense sense of accomplishment, knowing I did something hard. I was bragging a bit to my family last night, because I didn't get rid of all the prohibited foods in my house and still did it! (My husband and teenage children did not join me on this quest and still wanted goodies.)

I found Whole30 by seeing the book at Costco, and a brief reading there made me curious. I bought and read ISWF, and the ideas resonated with me. I am always suspicious of "sciency" stuff about nutrition because it is so often contradictory, but the idea of doing a controlled experiment on my own body seemed very sensible.

I started mostly following the meal templates and rules about 3 weeks before Day 1, and that worked really well for me. It gave me time to shop for needed ingredients, try out some recipes, learn to make mayo, etc. I had a special event that I wanted to eat at, so I planned to start after that. I am a teacher, so summer is a perfect time to do a Whole30, as I do have more time to cook and meal plan. The challenge will be continuing to eat well after school begins!

First, successes: I primarily did this because I struggle with blood sugar issues. I am pre-diabetic, and I had been gaining weight that I couldn't seem to shift. I didn't like the weight, but it worried me more because weight gain usually means blood sugar issues. Though I don't check my blood sugar, on the Whole30 I felt like it was more regulated than I have ever experienced. As I tell everyone, I get hungry now but not sick-hungry. I am not shaky, light-headed, nauseous, or grouchy. This is huge for me! I love only having to eat 3 times a day. It is tremendously freeing not to have to think of food every 3 hours.