Joining in!! Start date 8/24

ajburg

Hello! My name is Alison- I am a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner from Saint Paul, MN. I remain active with hot yoga and spin and generally eat healthy, but I also struggle with body image. I am hoping that the Whole30 will make my relationship with food positive and one to celebrate! 

Some things that concern me: 

- staying on a budget! I know quality of life is priceless, but student loans aren't just suggestions ; )

- finding food that I enjoy with FEW ingredients that I can actually manage to cook decently (not my strongest talent) 

- not being prepared and slipping up unknowingly if I have to resort to restaurant food

- missing those brewskies at happy hour with friends (especially during patio season in MN) 

I am hoping this group can relieve some of these concerns, but I realize this is a journey and I will just have to try my best and see what happens!

Thanks!!! 

Kindly,

Alison 

• Replies 399
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Administrators

Hi Alison,

Congrats on arriving here, excited about your start date coming up?

Check out the Well Fed (1 & 2) cookbooks from Mel Joulwan (theclothesmakethegirl.com) as she has awesome recipes with basic ingredients that most people will have available.  She also has a "training" guide on how to do weekly cookups to save yourself time and make sure that you are fully prepped. 

http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/2014/12/28/whole30-resources-roundup-2/

Hi Allison!  My coworker and I are starting on the 24th as well- and we are in Minneapolis!

I have a lot of the same concerns as you do, I'm hoping that once I get into the pattern of meal planning and shopping, the process will get faster.

I used to be pretty good at eating clean (though I never eliminated legumes or grains completely before) and am excited to get back on track to treating my body better.  I'm hoping it will help with my eczema and anxiety as well!

Can't wait to get started- good luck! :D