So sore from work-outs

Deezah82

I'm on day 10 and feeling SO sore from the last couple day's workouts. I don't usually get this sore.

I do crossfit 4 times a week and am training for a half-marathon in early November which  means running 3 times a week.

Before starting my Whole 30, I would supplement with a protein shake in the morning and one within 30 minutes before or after crossfit. I would not have a second one on run days unless it was a run/crossfit day. (I do actually take breaks during the week--always have at least one rest day and listen to my body if an additional is needed.) I also used BCAAs during workouts.

I've been training like this for several years, so its not a significant increase in work.

Doing the Whole 30 does not significantly alter my diet--just cleans it up. The biggest difference is eliminating dairy and alcohol, Saturday pizza and mimosa cheat meals, and the occasion sweet cheat. And the elimination of protein shakes and BCAAs.

Exercise the last few days--rest on Saturday, run on Sunday (was supposed to be 6.5miles, only ran 2, walked the remainder because it was 95 degrees outside), crossfit Monday (metcon and skills work) and Tuesday (mostly strength work). 

Typical Meals: (generally follow the guide)

Breakfast frittata at 7a--eggs, veggies (spinach/cauliflower/etc), fat (either olives or avocado); slice is about the size of my hand, slightly smaller

Lunch--leftovers from dinner so meat, veggies, fruit (peach, apple, banana, grapes--pick one)

Dinner--very similar to lunch, eaten 30 minutes-1 hour after workouts or runs

Pre-workout snack--Run day--fruit, hard-boiled egg; crossfit day--hardboiled egg, nuts

I don't usually feel hungry between meals. I prefer fattier cuts of meat, so think I'm getting enough fat from those--but maybe not?

What can I do to help my muscles heal faster and not be so sore?!