Whole30 completed on Sept 5 - 10 things I learned

mfustos

I completed my W30 on Sept 5, 2 days before my birthday just because I really wanted to treat myself to ice cream. 

Here are the 10 biggest things I learned:

1. I completed the W30 program without a hint of a slip up AND I made each and every one of the meals that I ate in that 30 days. I saved quite a bit of money in the restaurant area since I did not eat out at all in 30 days

2. It is very important to utilize the forum and reach out to this great network when you have questions, concerns or just need someone to give you some tough love and support. Without this group of people, this W30 would have been much more difficult.

3. I learned how to cook a lot more foods in a variety of different ways - including fish, which I was terrified to try and cook before - and - I am a pretty good cook. The homemade stuff is much better than the packaged junk too!

4. I love grilled asparagus, zucchini (extra YUM), parsnips & beets. I have become more sensitive to the different tastes each vegetable, meat and fruit has.

5. I can get up a little bit earlier and make myself a good breakfast and I will not be more fatigued throughout the day just because I missed the extra 20 minutes of sleep.

6. I have a much better relationship with food now than I ever did before. I understand that it is to fuel my body (and what quantities and types fuel is best) and not something to dull pain or enhance celebration. I CAN go 4 - 6 hours without eating and not starve!

7. I have eaten out several times now that my W30 is complete (although still trying to be as W30 compliant as possible) and know when I am ordering what to order in terms of protein, fat and veggies AND - I like what I make from scratch much better!