Starting as soon as I can figure out what I'm doing!

SummerJ0y

I'm a homeschooling mom of four kids 10 and under. My husband is a bi-vocational pastor and worship leader at our church, and I sing or play beside him each week. I'm also a family and wedding photographer.

A friend told me about The Whole30 a few days ago.

For a couple of years I've suffered from digestive problems.. it's been worse in the last year though. Before we spend a fortune on a colonoscopy (and probably medicine) we decided that a diet change would be beneficial. They believe I have colitis... steroids were my best friend during a flare back in March/April.

I'm terrified to start this diet.. but I've already given up soda and coffee, so. (Coffee was my favorite. MY FAVORITE.) The systemic inflammation has become too much to bear... I'm desperate It's time.

SummerJ0y--Welcome!  I'm new myself, on day 18.  I'm also a homeschooling mom with 5 graduates and 3 still at home.  I have 7 super sons and 1 delightful daughter.  It's so nice to meet another home schooling mom!  :)  I'm so sorry you're having such issues.  My mom has Crohn's disease--NOT fun!  And she is on meds for life!  That would be worse to me that giving up a few things.  I have coffee everyday now with almond milk and coconut oil.  I blend it in my vitamix and it's ABSOLUTELY delicious!  I'll say some prayers for grace and strength!  That's the ONLY way I'm doing this--by His loving grace!  

coffee-screen-smiley.gif?1292867572  The sooner you can give up coffee...the healing process will begin.  You may have to gut it out for awhile.  I like being all jacked up on coffee and bouncing off the walls but it sure is a let down.   When I descend and come in for a landing I'm really deflated.  computer-tired-smiley.gif?1292867575