Breakfast is so challenging for me!

angemc22

Today is day 2 for me!

I've had trouble eating breakfast with memories of arguing with my mom about not wanting to eat in second grade!

30 years later... Breakfast is hard and in this time I've become a huge smoothie addict.

I've prepared a few different types of yummy frittatas and egg "muffins" but I'm literally nauseous. I realize this is most likely linked to some hormonal imbalances as indicated in the Whole 30 book. However, How do I combat this? Since I'm a teacher, my window to eat is short in the morning.

I'd love suggestions or feedback from anyone who has a similar experience.

Thanks!

I haven't had a similar experience but I admire your dedication! My only suggestion is to make sure what you're eating is delicious. Second if you drink coffee or tea have that, as I always find those drinks pair well with breakfast. Coffee is good because if you add coconut milk its a serving of fat! Also don't sweat it if you can't finish your meal. I think over time you'll get used to it and it will be easier. Breakfast is yummy and one of my favorite meals.

• Moderators

You are on the right track... making an effort to eat breakfast. The most powerful thing we can do to correct our hormonal rhythms is to eat breakfast within an hour of waking. 

Breakfast is important enough to warrant getting up 15 minutes earlier to make it happen. I prepare a plate of fried eggs and cold sauerkraut in about 5 minutes, so 15 minutes gives me time to cook and eat without being in a hurry. You may not be ready for sauerkraut at breakfast, but it is important to eat protein, fat, and veggies somehow.

Avoid coffee or strong tea until after eating because caffeine is an appetite suppressant that can making eating harder.