Personal "rules" - what are yours?

penybryn2249

Ok it.s only been two days but I have started my own list of rules. I wanted to share these and see if others can contribute short statements that have kept this process of massive change manageable.  (I am a psychologist, female, 66 year old, and single. I am aware that living alone makes this easier in some ways.)

Here's what I have so far for rules or guidelines:

1. The kitchen must be clean before I go to bed otherwise I am discouraged in the am

2. I have to stop reading WHOLE30 information at 10 pm otherwise I can read on into the night.

3. Because I am so focused on my food changes, I need to be EXTRA careful to pay attention in other areas (such as losing my key in the parking lot of the supermarket late at night)

4. This takes time and energy. Be conscious about where the time will come from. It has to come from somewhere.

Hi penybryn2249,

I like your rule 1 & 2 and I think I will borrow from you.

So far, my rules have been:

1) Do not eat after 8 pm or else I wake up bloated, this is especially hard because I get home late, around 7, by the time I finish preparing food for myself and family, it's 8. so I don't get to eat until around 8:30 even at times 9:30 if I work even later. I want to improve on this, somehow!!!

2) Always have an egg ready for the next day's snack, I find this is the best snack for me, keeps me satiated for a while.

3) Set short term goals so not go get overwhelmed

4) Reserve 30 minutes to myself before bedtime to unwind

• Administrators

Good rules, guys!

One of our household rules is that the kitchen is "closed" after dinner. Lunches made, cleaned up, lights out, no entry unless it's for tea or water.

I also make sure I check the "menu plan" before I close the kitchen to make sure that frozen stuff is out defrosting or that I know if I need to prep anything or pick anything up on the way home the next day. I don't like surprises, they lead to nothing good!