Greetings from Bangkok, Thailand

Dom Dumais

Greetings from Bangkok, Thailand and Happy New Year!

Hi.  I'm new here, but I'm an old hand with this type of forum, I've been running IP.Board forums since about 2009, and started on an Invision Free forum in 2004.

I'm an avid martial artist, and have been studying martial arts off and on since I was 6 years old.  Currently, I'm studying JKS Shotokan Karate here in Bangkok.  I also practice yoga, and have done a teacher training course for teaching yoga.  I try to cycle everyday, but sometimes I miss out on it for one reason or another.

I'm an English and math teacher here in Bangkok, and I teach Prathom 1 (1st Graders) and Prathom 2 (2nd Graders).

I also teach practical self-defense and yoga from time to time here in Bangkok.   :)

About 5 years ago, while my wife and I were living in Chiang Mai, my weight went up to around 260 lbs (118kg).  I remember when my wife and I were visiting my family in the States, she took a picture of me at my families farm in northern Minnesota, and I remember thinking that I had gained a lot of weight, so I should hold my stomach in so it doesn't look so bad.  Later, when I saw the picture, I was shocked that my stomach was still sticking out quite far  :( , and decided I needed to do something about it.  I made a goal of getting down to 200 lbs (90.7 kg), but I wasn't in any rush to get there.  I wanted to do it in a healthy way, and when I got there, I got there.  To do this, I modified slightly my diet, and got back in to yoga and started practicing mixed martial arts (MMA), and I also practiced Tai Chi.  Last year, when I wrote my blog post about losing weight (and quitting smoking) I was down to 200.8 lbs (91 kg).