Clarified Butter is brown

sunshine7362

I am new to Whole30.  I just tried to clarify butter and it looked great.  I took the advice of letting is simmer longer as mentioned in the Whole30 book.  Looks like the solids went to the bottom but the butter is an amber color much darker than ghee.  Is it still whole30 compliant.  I think I may have created brown butter.  Even though I used a cheesecloth and the butter is clear I was wondering if I have to start over.  Thanks.

• 4 months later...

Some people prefer it a little darker :) It's fine to eat

First time making clarified butter today...it turned out slightly lighter color than coffee.  Is it still okay or is it now not Whole30?

Thank you in advance!!

I find that some batches of clarified butter/ghee taste better than butter -- complex and deep. And other batches are perhaps not quite as good as butter, but still tasty. 

This is one of the great things about Whole30: It has forced me to try new things. I loved cooking for a long time before Whole30, but I never cooked this much, that's for sure! Now I have tried things I never thought I would like -- sardines, coconut everything, whole fruits (instead of juice), and more.

The thing with buying and preparing real food is that it can be unpredictable. But that can be exciting! I know I had come to rely on the consistency of processed/packaged food before I discovered the Whole30. Now I am experimenting, and the results can be surprising. When you find something you love, it's such a great reward.  

it's a shame we or at least I still eat the same ol same ol. i think when I find my new good new, It will probably and hopefully be a new me.    

thanks for the replys on the Clarified. I was hoping it was not just oil...   ;)  

do you all make your own or buy the Ghee? 

• Moderators

it's a shame we or at least I still eat the same ol same ol. i think when I find my new good new, It will probably and hopefully be a new me.