Help!!! I'm about to start my 1st Whole30 EVER!

Elsy Garza

Hello everyone!  Well, I'm a newbie and the scary/exciting part is that I am very unfit and unhealthy and have been most of my life and want to desperately change that.  Yes, I want to lost weight, but more than that, I just want to be healthy!  I'll be reading over all the material here and I guess I'll be prepping over the next few days.  It'll be hard to totally clean out the fridge and pantry because I have a husband, 3 kids and 2 neighbor girls that I babysit every afternoon after school so I can't just get rid of everything.  I'm really good about staying away from unhealthy snacks, I LOVE fruits and veggies!!!!!  I don't think I'll have a hard time following the restrictions from the Whole30 plan except the sugar in my coffee and dairy.  I've tried similar plans on my own before without any results and I just can't figure out why haven't been able to lose any weight.  I've also worked out, drank more water, counted calories, my doctor checked my thyroid which was fine so she had no explanation for me.  I am an several medications for some things that I have going on that may be causing me to gain weight even when I eat healthy.  BUT..... I AM NOT GIVING UP!!!!!  I am going to give this a try with a positive mindset trusting the God is in control and has a great plan for me!  If any of you have any advice and/or encouragement for me, I would greatly appreciate it!!!!!!

Elsy G

• Moderators

Welcome and congrats on finding your new lifestyle!

It sounds like you're in a decent position to have some real success (if you already like veggies and you don't do snacks).

As far as weightloss, this isn't a 'weightloss diet'.  Lots of people do lose weight on it but the point is to get healthier, not skinnier ;)