Foodie starting first Whole30-- hoping for mental clarity and metabolic improvement

foodlovenotfoodwar

Hello everyone (or I should say, anyone, since I don't know how many folks go around reading these logs!)

This is my very first Whole30 and I'm on Day 1.  I've read a lot online in preparation, but I'm still new to exploring the forum and I'm still reading the books, sort of concurrently (I go back and forth).  I discovered the Whole30 through my sister in law who has done two of them and is on her third, but we are not close so I don't expect much support from her.  Hence I figured I'd come here and see how it goes!

So the background:

My hopes for the program are to really repair the hot mess that is my current metabolism.  I am very overweight and have been for several years.  My former eating habits were really problematic-- I might not eat until several hours into the day and that would be my only meal.  Since I would be very hungry by that time, sometimes it would be very carb-laden, especially as I knew I needed that food to hold me over.  I'm in grad school and just finished a year of intense interning, so my schedule made regular eating extremely difficult.  But I knew that this way of eating was not helping me any, and although my food intake does not fluctuate much, I have seen a steady weight gain of a few pounds a month that has continued over time, even during my busy year while I was running all over and much more active than usual.  So I know that there are metabolic issues at play.  I do not have diabetes or PCOS but an increase in "skin tags" suggests insulin resistance.  I have also been told by a gynocologist that other problems I'm having are likely due to problems with estrogen.  I started limiting my soy exposure at that time but did not take it to the line of full elimination like in Whole30.