Slept through breakfast and lunch!

meleigh

Hi guys. I need a bit of help. I'm on day 12 of my first Whole30. I've been fighting a cold/virus for the last 4 days or so. This cold has taken down most of my friends, so I've been lucky to just feel kinda bleh, with a little congestion and a low fever. I have been super tired though, and today I just could not get out of bed. I ended up sleeping until 1 p.m. (right through breakfast and lunch) and when I woke up I was lightheaded and hungry. I immediately had an apple and homemade cashew butter (made with added coconut oil) and then homemade chicken and veggie soup. I started to feel better immediately, but two hours later I am shakey, cloudy and a little lightheaded again. I honestly don't know if I am hungry - I'm still learning how my hunger cues work. So, here's the question: If I go without eating for a super long time (like sleeping through breakfast and lunch ) how do I adjust my meals for the rest of the day to make up for it and keep body happy? Any thoughts?

Your body is doing extra work right now fighting this virus, so you will need at least as much food as normal, if not more. I would make sure to get as much food as you normally have, so that would mean making your remaining meals bigger or eating another mid-afternoon meal. My sense is that the first option would be preferred since we try to avoid snacking on W30. Having said that, if you think that the food helped you feel better, listen to your body and eat something! :-)