Margaret's first Whole30 log

margaretlogan7

I am so excited for Day 1 of My Whole30!! I woke up around 7am to get some readings done for class and felt super energized and genuinely happy. I'm a nursing student so I'm used to the early morning wake-ups haha. Whole30 guidelines say that it is important to eat within the hour of waking so around 8:30 I had my breakfast with a small glass of water because my tea was too hot to drink. I actually ate my breakfast in maybe 5 minutes while standing up (ways too fast) because I was running late to class, but I should've taken 15 minutes to eat and also sat down at the table to actually enjoy my food -- this will be my goal for tomorrow morning. 

8:30 Breakfast: "Breakfast Sushi" - 2 scrambled eggs + 2 egg whites, 1/2 avocado, 1/2 zucchini strips sautéed in 1 tbsp olive oil, 2 strips of turkey bacon, 1 tbsp salsa. 

Felt a little nauseous from eating too fast, wasn't sure if I was hungry or satisfied. One thing I am excited to do is to get in touch with my body's hunger cues. 

10:30 Snack: sipping on tea all morning,seasnax pack, small fuji apple

All of sudden I got that slight hunger sensation. I think its hunger?...I'm not sure. Could I eat eggs? yes. Fish? not this early in the morning. Steamed broccoli? Im not a huge fan of broccoli. More of what I ate for breakfast? YES!! SO GOOD 

11:20 feeling restless and still a little hungry. I am sitting in class still in my 9-12 lecture. Thinking of eating lunch early...

Take aways: 

*sit down and eat breakfast at the table for 15 minutes 

*add more fat to breakfast or protein - maybe one more egg and a whole avocado (not a half) 

Day 1 Part 2