Monica's Whole 30 Log. My first foray into paleo-style eating!

MonicaRenee144

Hi all!

I embarked on my first Whole30 yesterday. I've never tried paleo-style eating before, but have been feeling very off since I gave birth to my son. Pregnancy seems to have changed my body quite a bit, and I'm hoping this reset will help me change my lifestyle in a way that will have me feeling well again! I also have some very dry/cracked/itchy skin on my hands that I can't seem to shake, so I'm interested to see if it's diet related.

I am also supporting a 5 month old who drinks exclusively breastmilk, so I'm focusing on providing enough calories/nutrients for him as well. I'm terrified of not eating enough and having my supply drop, so that balance is going to be difficult for me to find.

Anyway, here's yesterday's food log - I found that I really wasn't prepared for Day 1 at all. I ate WAY WAY too much fruit, and my lunch portion was much too small (which is most of the reason I ate the two pieces of fruit afterward). Thank goodness for hard boiled eggs or I never would have made it. I had a massive headache and felt pretty off all day up until dinner, so hopefully I got the "hangover" portion of this out of the way on Day 1. :) (I am feeling pretty good today (Day 2), so I've got my fingers crossed!)

Breakfast – smoothie w/ strawberries, mango, wild blueberries + coconut milk.

Snack – 2 hard-boiled eggs and 1.5oz cashews

Lunch – Taco beef + salsa + avocado over spinach, nectarine, pear.

Snack – 2 hard-boiled eggs, 4 dates

Dinner – Apple Dijon burger + sweet potatoes + green beans + fried egg (olive oil used for cooking)

I know snacking is discouraged, but I think it'll take me some time to really get my portions right and be able to skip the snacking (plus that whole not eating enough and losing milk supply fear comes into play here as well).

Today is going MUCH better so far.

Happy Tuesday!

Monica