Running a marathon

apburke

Hello whole30 community! This is my first time doing a whole30 and my first time posting a topic on a forum! So- I am on day 14, and feeling pretty good. I do have a marathon coming up on Saturday, and I am curious to know if anyone has any suggestions for what to eat this week as well as what to prepare the day of? I will be able to eat breakfast prior to the race.

I am a seasoned marathoner (this will be number 24?) and have qualified for Boston more than once. I tried some dates on my 15 mile run the other week, and those were easy to carry/eat. As some other people have mentioned, I too have noticed that my runs feel a little more challenging than they normally do. In the past I have been able to stride along between a 7:20-7:30 min/mile for my longs runs. The past two, however, I have been more 7:50-7:57 min/mile range.

I certainly understand I may not PR on this race, but I would like it to be an "enjoyable" experience. Any advice is certainly welcome!

Thanks so much! :)

#healthnutwholovesbooze

Best wishes on an enjoyable and efficient marathon!

I found this article helpful: http://womensrunning.competitor.com/2015/03/mile-posts/mile-posts-fuel-running-whole30_35997

I haven't run races longer than half marathon distance, but I like coconut water during my runs. I have tried eating prior, and only felt more muscle fatigue in my legs. I just do the post run fuel of mashed sweet potato and some grilled chicken breast. At Day 23, my runs are finally starting to feel a bit better. :)

Good luck on your race!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! I just wanted to follow up on this thread and check in to see how the race went. I am only on Day 4 but I have two races coming up in the coming weeks and have been struggling with finding what to use for fuel on runs. I used to put Nuun tablets in my water and use gels, but obviously both of those are out now. Any suggestions would be so helpful! :)