Hoping to heal with the Whole30

Heather Lynn

I have a bad habit of rambling on...but I will try to keep this short and simple.

Food and I, we have a beautiful loving awful destructive relationship. It has been this way for many years. Food is my medication, in all the wrong ways. I have never had a healthy relationship with food...but boy, do I love it.

I am a medical professional, but over the years I have discovered that my beliefs in western medicine have changed. I have gone to more holistic natural living in almost all areas of my life (though my profession remains the same). I have cleaned up my eating a few times, only to cave to old ways and cravings.

In adulthood wound up morbidly obese, with severe high blood pressure, diabetes, and MS. I had weight loss surgery, and lost 100lbs. My diabetes was gone and blood pressure down. I removed toxins from my life as much as I could, and my MS went into remission. Over the years my weight has crept back up. I am now 40lbs overweight, and none of the old tricks make me lose weight. None of them. I am a sugar addict, to the extreme. I have yeast and inflammatory issues.

My blood pressure is back up and I am battling major depression. Emotionally, I am a wreck. I cannot seem to get things in order in my personal life. I take care of my kids, and that is all that matters these days. I need to get to a better place, and fully believe that the Whole30 will help me to do that. I used to be a gym rat, and now I can barely muster up the motivation to get dressed. Some days I don't even do that.

My husband has become a really angry person, and I am having him do this with me as I have heard it helps with that too. Plus, I think it is just better for all of us. I have a really picky son, so I will be searching for ways to make him adapt to this easier.

I appreciate any words of encouragement or relaying of successes in overcoming the things I struggle with.

I start my whole30 April 1.