Starting my first Whole30 today!

beckerj88

Hey everyone! 

I've been lurking for a few weeks now. I read It Starts with Food, and bought the Whole30 cookbook a few weeks ago. I had been putting off starting for this and that, but decided yesterday that I'm always going to be able to come up with some reason why I can't do it, so I decided to just bite the bullet and do it! I went to the grocery store yesterday and bought stuff for the week. It was a bit overwhelming while I was at the store because I was constantly pulling out my cheat sheets and checking to make sure that the stuff I was buying was Whole30 compliant. I had been doing a fairly strict keto diet for about 9 months, and then about 3 months fell off and went back to eating very unhealthy. I have really been feeling the effects of that for the last 3 months. For me I think the hardest part of this diet is going to be eating more vegetables. I don't really like vegetables and never really have. It's mostly a texture thing for me. What I'm hoping to gain from this experience is a better relationship with foods, particularly my veggies, and an overall better feeling on a day to day basis. I've got a plan for this week, and am excited to be starting!

This morning I had eggs with salsa and guacamole, for lunch I'll be having some leftover Whole30 pot roast, and for dinner I will be having grassfed steak with chimichurri sauce, red fingerling potatoes, and some kind of veggie (asparagus maybe?). I'm not a big snacker, but just in case I brought some mixed berries to eat if I get a little hungry.

Here we go!

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply