Portable pre/post workout snacks for an NYC habitant!

AlyssaM

Hi all!

This is my first time posting to the forum, but I am looking for a little help!

I live in NYC, and I am very active. When I'm really doing well with my workout regimen, I take a morning workout class at various boutique fitness studios throughout the city. Technically, I live in queens, it takes me an hour to get to work, so I typically choose studios that are a halfway point in my commute. That being said, I don't have time to mess around in the morning. My pre-workout snack is something I can eat with 1 hand, standing in a train (so something packaged) so I usually rely on a banana and coffee (I know, not recommended). My post workout snack is the same deal, some quick protein I can scarf down walking to work, and then I have my actual breakfast once I'm at work. As a result, I also find myself relying on RX bars more than I would like.

So, can you give me any recommendations for portable pre/post workout meals that include some sort of wrapping (I don't want to touch any after a class or on the train!!).

Thanks in advance!

• Moderators

Can you wash your hands after a class?  

Preworkout is recommended to be fat and protein, not fruit.  Hardboiled eggs are a great portable option... put it in a zipper bag and then use the zipper bag like a glove to eat the egg, or eat it before you leave the house... it only takes two seconds to eat a hardboiled egg.

Post workout is recommended to be lean protein and starchy carbs... again with the zipper bag you can eat sliced chicken breast and baked yams without ever having to touch them... 

Bars are ONLY approved for emergencies (stuck on the tarmac in a blizzard for six hours) so planning to use them for workout fueling is not one of the approved uses.