Whole30 and Weight Loss

Chibaybee

Hi there,

I am new to Whole 30 (Day 5) and still figuring things out.

Looking through the information on this website and forums, I see repeatedly that Whole30 is not intended as a weight loss program. I am actually trying to lose about 35-40 pounds that I have slowly put on over the last 8 years in my 30's. My main goal is weight loss, but I really like the philosophy behind Whole 30 and the idea of changing my eating mindset.

I guess I'm just looking for some guidance from those of you who may have experience with this. If I'm trying to lose weight first and foremost, should I try a different weight-loss program instead? Will I just be disappointed with my results after 30 days? It's hard to have perspective on all of this because right now I'm just dealing with the early-phase headaches and tiredness.

Thanks!

Stick with it!

I felt I was gaining and that fat was oozing out of my pours around day 12. But you have to wait until your body becomes fat adapted. It wasn't until around day 22 that my clothes felt looser. I ended up losing 8 pounds during the W30. Have lost 2.5 more in the week since...eating mostly compliant. So that's 10.5 pounds in really just 2-3 weeks.

This is not a weight loss diet. It's a program to transform your body into a fat burning machine so you can feel, be, and look healthier.

Everybody's numbers differ.. Slow and steady wins the race…    You're going to feel fabulous and enjoy eating this way.. Stick with it and your energy will increase..  (meaning increasing your activity)   Don't be surprised if you only drop 2 or 3 pounds a month.. Follow the directions and the magic will happen :)