Not Quite Getting Fats

I'm struggling with adding fats to my meals.

This is not because I'm subconsciously trying to avoid fats. I think it's because I'm a stuck up cook. :o I'm finding it really hard to add fat just for the sake of adding fat when it doesn't make sense with the meal. (And I'm avoiding eggs in order to test for a sensitivity after 30 days, so homemade mayo is out. I tried the coconut butter version and it just did not work for me as a mayo substitute.)

First, it seems to me that using a normal amount of cooking fat to cook for the family, when divided into portions, is probably not going to cover my fat requirement? Just looking for a reality check here.

Second, I really don't want everything I make to taste like coconut. I'm coming at this hoping to make some sustainable changes, and an all coconut diet isn't sustainable for me! I have been eating unsweetened coconut shreds, but that could get to be an expensive habit. I love olives and avocado, just not at every meal and I'm loving them less after just a week of eating them so frequently.

OK, that was more of a rant than a question. I guess the question is, do people really drink canned coconut milk???

Third, I'm confused about nuts. Nuts and nut butter are included on the meal template, but I know they don't have an ideal ratio of fats. So how many nut servings a day is reasonable?

I think I've been doing OK with my fat portions so far, but I'm struggling to make this a more natural part of meal planning.

A closed handful of nuts/seeds every other day is about as much as we'd recommend.

You could try making egg free mayo with avocado oil (option 2 or 3 here) - it's a bit of a faff, but it is something other than oil to put on a salad or roasted veg. then there's also ghee, tallow, lard, schmaltz, duck fat, goose fat, compliant bacon, fatty cuts of meat like shin/brisket, chicken thighs with skins on...

The oil you're using to cook really isn't enough.