Need business travel tips and advise

Moobuzz

For those who travel a lot, I am a corporate trainer and am traveling a few days out of the week.  I travel to various U.S. and Canadian cities and am on the road about twice a month.  During the day, lunch is catered for the class and I'm afraid that there will be nothing that is completely compliant.  Since I stay in a hotel, it's not that feasible for me to buy food, prep, let alone cook it, and I'm not there that long so much of the food may go to waste.  During my Whole30 period I will have two business trips, and one is coming up next week.  I am adept at bringing snacks or packing my lunch for the flights, but it's when I get to my destination that is problematic.

Before I started Whole30 I use to love looking up good local restaurants on Yelp and trying new places in the city I'm visiting.  My questions are, a) do you have suggestions on how to pick restaurants while on Whole30, and B) how to navigate eating a pre-set catered menu that may give you little choice?  Thanks!

• Moderators

Hey there Moobuzz (love the name!)

Here's the Dining Out Guide that gives you tips and questions to ask http://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-dining.pdf

Can you talk to the people that order the lunches for the classes?  If you had a life threatening allergy, you would tell them that you couldn't eat XYZ, so I"m sure that you can have a conversation with them and see if maybe they can ask the caterers to bring you a big salad with plain grilled chicken.  Some of the things that you can bring along to help with the catered lunch would be salad dressing, tinned fish (in case that grilled chicken is breaded and deep fried) and an avocado... easy purse food.  In your case, i would also say that if you had an Epic bar or two in your purse, this might be one of the instances where it would be helpful when you can't be in full control of your food choices.