Favorite grilled chicken?

Karen_Suep

I'm currently on a "grill everything in sight" kick, but I'm still a bit of a novice at grilling. My parents never really grilled so I was never really exposed to it til more recently. Now I have a grill and grill everything in sight, seriously. Instead of "will it blend?" It's "will it grill!"

That being said, I don't have a go to for how to season grill chicken. I have recipes for grilled chicken but they have bold flavors and I'm looking to do something a little more neutral so I can mix leftovers with mayo or cut up to top salad. Salt and pepper seems too bland.

• Administrators

I like to brine the drier meats (like chicken breast or pork chops) in a salty solution at least over night and then pound flat.  This seems to make the meat juicier and more flavourful.  I then dry it off and season with an "every day" seasoning similar to below (I reduce the salt because the meat will become a bit saltier from the brine).  I personally take my crushed up every-day seasoning and then mix it with a good amount of melted coconut oil into a paste and then spread that on the dried-off meat before grilling.  Otherwise the seasoning will just burn.

1. 2 Tbsp coarse sea salt.
  2. 1/4 C whole mustard seeds.
  3. 1/3 C rainbow peppercorns.
  4. 1/4 C whole coriander seeds.
  5. 1 Tbsp dehydrated onion.
  6. 1 Tbsp dehydrated garlic.
  7. 1 Tbsp red pepper flakes.

• Administrators