is red wine viniger off limits


Recommended Posts

Vinegars are allowe if they have no ADDED sulfites and are gluten free. Assuming the red wine vinegar doesn't have sulfites added, it's good to use. 

Malt vinegar is almost always not compliant because malt=gluten. 

Balsalmic vinegar often has added sulfites (read the ingredients! If it says "contains some sulfites" but none are listed in the ingredients, you're good)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just to elaborate on Karen's answer, you also need to watch out for added sweeteners, from the program rules:

  • Vinegar. Most forms of vinegar, including white, balsamic, apple cider, red wine, and rice, are allowed during your Whole30 program. The only exceptions are vinegars with added sugar, or malt vinegar, which generally contains gluten.

And the section about sulfites:

  • Do not consume carrageenan, MSG or sulfites. If these ingredients appear in any form on the label of your processed food or beverage, it’s out for the Whole30.

Handy additives download:


Link to comment
Share on other sites

As always check your labels to make sure there are no added sugars in the ingredients.  If there are Naturally Occurring Sulfates in the vinegar those are compliant because their all natural.  I myself asked this question because I love the Vinegar's that "Oliva" sells and wanted to make sure they were compliant before purchasing them.  And again, always check your ingredients :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.