GUM? To chew or not to chew....

SonneS

I just "soft started" my Whole30 on Saturday, December 3rd... I say soft started because I haven't read all of the books yet, but have read a nice portion through the samples allowed through google.  Headed to the library in a minute to get It All Starts With Food, and will get the Whole30 when I have a couple extra bucks.  Anywho... I'm a massage therapist and I chew gum when I am in session ... don't want to have bad breath, it keeps my mouth wet and has saved me from having coughing attacks in the past.  So, I know gum has artificial sweeteners, etc., but I'm not actually ingesting it sooooo......???  I didn't see any other threads on this topic, so hopefully someone can answer me :)

Not to chew.

Chewing fools the digestive system into thinking food is forthcoming when it's not (meaning the body starts to produce digestive enzymes), so it's not something we'd encourage. Plus  they're all gonna contain either sugar or sweeteners.

Have a search on the forum for alternatives. The best way is via Google - type in 'Whole30 breath freshener' and you should come up with plenty of suggestions.

Hope this helps :)

I used to chew gum after every meal, and got through packets and packets of it - I haven't had any since starting W30 in April.  yes my breath sometimes stinks, but there are alternatives like fresh herbs, mint, parsley, etc.  and hopefully, with eating less sugars, you get few dental problems, so that's an added bonus.  my teeth are a lot better since W30 too.  You could also try a mouth spritzer of flavoured water - ie get your own spray bottle and add infused water to it (maybe mint), then spritz your mouth with that before each client?