How often do you cook?

mdjess86

Hey everyone, I'm currently in the planning stage for my first whole 30 and I'm trying to make sure I am very prepared so I can be successful! I have a difficult job for this, I'm a surgery resident, which means I work 70-90 hours a week and only have 4 days off a month. I do have post call days, which is when I have been at the hospital for about 28 hours and after this time I get to go home for about 18-20 hours until I have to go back in. I'm hoping to do some cooking on those days (I have 7 a month) but I'm often awake for the full 28 and sometimes I need extra sleep on that day, including all the studying and normal people stuff I have to do. Basically I've been reading that most of the sauces seem to only stay good for 2-4 days, and I was hoping to just cook one day a week. I'm a little nervous I will have to cook quite a bit more than that and that will inevitably mean less sleep. I'm also a little nervous about eating enough, we don't exactly have lunch breaks or much time for eating, we all get pretty used to wolfing down food very quickly whenever we have a chance, which is sometimes none at all. I have a feeling I will be eating a lot more at work than I do currently and am wondering how I'll try to handle that without snacking/cramming food in between cases. Does anyone else have a similar schedule, and if so how did you deal with the cooking prep as well as finding the time to eat in a healthy way while at work? Thanks for the help!! Just want to be completely prepared with few surprises!