W30 Bacon

emmyriley

I bought some W30 approved bacon (had the W30 stamp on the package!). I was so excited to try it, because last time I did Whole 30, I couldn't find any of the approved bacon anywhere. So I cooked the bacon up this morning for breakfast, tried it, and it tasted like it was drenched in salt. Anyone else experience this with W30 approved bacon, or is this just the one I got? Don't want to buy more bacon if all of the W30 approved bacons are going to be like this. Thanks! 

• 11 months later...

I found bacon at Lidl (a German owned grocery chain similar to Aldi's).  The bacon appears to be compliant and it tastes great.  It is a bit salty, but we enjoyed it.  It's their store brand and it labeled "Lower Sodium bacon" "Natural Hardwood".  I'm new at this and after reading about how it's basically impossible to find complaint bacon without ordering it on line, I was surprised to find some so easily - and it is very reasonably priced!  (Am I missing something??) 

• Moderators
1 hour ago, Mama Stacey said:

I found bacon at Lidl (a German owned grocery chain similar to Aldi's).  The bacon appears to be compliant and it tastes great.  It is a bit salty, but we enjoyed it.  It's their store brand and it labeled "Lower Sodium bacon" "Natural Hardwood".  I'm new at this and after reading about how it's basically impossible to find complaint bacon without ordering it on line, I was surprised to find some so easily - and it is very reasonably priced!  (Am I missing something??) 

It's getting easier to find bacon with no sugar. As long as you read the ingredients and they are all compliant, it's fine.

I eat Pederson's bacon and find it to be absolutely delicious. It has a smoky flavor but I don't find it to be salty at all. I used to be able to only find it a specialty whole foods store but can now find it at my regular grocery story... It's $7.99 a package though... Ouch! Worth it! 

• 3 months later...
  • 2 months later...