Severly Dry Lips - HELP!

Ali Taylor

Hi Everyone,  I am new to the whole30 plan having just started it on January 2nd with my husband and brother in law.  We are loving it!  I cut out all of the stuff we aren't supposed to have, which was pretty easy considering we were eating mostly clean anyway.  We weren't big fast food people but we do love our dairy and wine/bourbon.  I have noticed over the last week that my lips are severely dry, to the point that they are cracking.  I am drinking nothing but water and plenty of it, at least 120 oz or more a day and nothing seems to help.  They are worse in the morning when I wake up.  Has anyone else had this happen and if so what did you do to help it?  I do not generally get dry lips as I live in Central Texas and this is starting to concern me. 

Thank you! 

I try and eat some sort of fat at each meal. Avacados for breakfast, and either coconut oil for cooking and/or ghee on the actual meal.  I have cut out other bad fats that I used to eat on a daily basis.  Do you think my body is trying to acclimate to the new good fats being introduced? 

I'm in Houston and my face and lips were horribly dry last weekend. I thought it was because of the cold front we has, but now I'm wondering if it had something to do with my whole30 as well....

Anyways, I started eating a spoonful of coconut oil before bed and that seemed to help. Or maybe it's because it's warm and humid again, lol

• Moderators
1 hour ago, LK Labuda said:

I'm 13 days into my first Whole30 and my lips actually started peeling.  I was biting skin off my lips for the first time ever. I'm a big lipstick user so my lips are never dry, accept for now.