Bloating on day 4??

Bearclaw

So I'm very early on in the game, on day 4. I haven't felt the "hangover fatigue" or the "sugar dragon" murderous state, things I should have experienced. I know Whole30 reacts differently with everyone, but I'm really concerned that my bloating is occurring so early. I'm not joking when I say even SWEATPANTS feel a little tight on me. I looked in the mirror while I was changing to see what was up and let me tell y'all, it's like someone surgically inserted a balloon underneath my stomach. I'm not lying, it's grossly distended and I'm genuinely concerned this isn't normal.

After reading through some posts, some people said nuts are not my friend during Whole30, at least as a snack on my own. I'm a college student and sometimes breakfast is a struggle to get in because of my schedule so I grab dried fruit and my favorite nuts (cashews). Could it be the nuts, is this kind of bloating normal?

• Moderators

Some bloating early on is normal, especially if this is a pretty big change from how you've eaten before, but nuts can definitely cause bloating and other digestive issues. Other possible culprits include eating lots of raw vegetables; eating cruciferous/brassica vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower, or kale (and if you eat these raw, that can be a double whammy); or not drinking enough water.

Short term, try limiting nuts to not more than every other day, and try to have more cooked vegetables than raw. Longer term, adding in probiotics may help -- there are probiotic pills, but check ingredients, or you can try fermented foods like raw sauerkraut or kimchi or other vegetables, or you could try kombucha.