Type 1 Diabetes

I started the whole 30 yesterday with my family. I've been a diabetic for 24 years and takes shots multiple times a day.  I normally eat a vegetarian lifestyle because of taste. I use to be prone to seizures at night but they have stopped for a couple months now. I talked with my Endo prior to starting. We talked of lowering my Lantus and actually eating meat full time so I don't drop as often. I know that this has helped type one diabetics in the past with their sugars. Normally I would eat tabs when my sugar has fallen low during the day and peanut butter and juice in the evening. I know that juice is compliant but is there any thing else to use to get sugar up quick and...

Looking to hear stories (good or bad) about others that have taken the journey with whole 30? 

I have had Type 1 for almost 20 years and have been on pump therapy for about 19 of those years.  I'm on day 18 of my first Whole30 so I'm by no means an expert, but here's what I've learned.  For lows, I treat with 100% fruit juice.  Grape juice seems to have the most sugar per ounce.  I also try to keep protein steady throughout the day.  Some at every meal, along with any occasional snacking to include almond butter (on fruit) or cashews.  In the first week I experienced quite a few lows that were fairly drastic for me (40's) and made adjustments to my basal rate (would be equivalent to you adjusting your Lantus).  The second week I had fewer lows.  In the 3rd week I don't recall having any, so far.  Have you ever considered wearing a pump?  I wore a Minimed pump for 18 years and only recently switched to Omnipod.  The advantage is that if you know a low is coming, the basal rate of insulin can be turned down or off.  I also wear a Dexcom continuous glucose monitor, which allows me to better anticipate highs or lows.