Health Food Stores vs Whole Foods

Tracy R.

I see posts in which people talk about doing their shopping at health food stores and whole foods. What exactly is a "health food store"? I feel so silly asking, but I'm wondering if I'm missing out on good deals. I thought WF was a health food store. In the Atlanta area, could somebody give me examples (names of) health food stores?

There was a Natural Foods Market near me in East Cobb for many years, but it closed. Life Grocery is on Roswell Rd (n Marietta (not Sandy Springs).

I am no expert but to me the "health food stores" seem to carry organic produce, perhaps have a juice bar where you can get things like wheat grass juice (takes a super powerful machine to make it yourself), lots of gluten free, vegetarian, vegan and specialty items. They had raw food meals and sides for sale that were made by Sprout Cafe. Natural Foods had a lot of bulk items for sale too. There were a ton of supplements and someone to help you with holistic healing recommendations and there were all kinds of "health" books for sale. Everything was expensive.

Whole Foods has a lot of the same items, and at just a high price as any health food store I have visited. Because so many grocery stores cater to so many dietary restrictions now, and a lot can get ordered online through Amazon or other sites like Netrition, I am not sure what a health food store might offer someone eating a primarily Paleo diet that couldn't be found elsewhere. I think health food stores had a unique offering before farmers markets and CSAs and the internet retailers became so prevalent.

Just my two cents...

These are 2 health food stores in GA:

http://www.goodnutritionweb.com/retailer/store_templates/shell_id_1.asp?storeID=546B2083F9FC4699AA2B928971E7EDCB

http://www.lifegrocery.com/retailer/store_templates/shell_id_1.asp?storeID=FCURUEAS61S92NM700AKHLBD3C4A30TE