Hardly eating because of hectic work

Hello everyone! My name is Alyssa and I'm a mental health therapist and after-hours crisis worker. I'm on my first round and day 19. I've been doing well with making meals and staying compliant but I'm having a hard time actually eating throughout the day because of my hectic job. I bring my lunch everyday but often don't get a lunch because of crisis situations. So, I often only eat breakfast and possibly dinner if I don't get called out. I have emergency food with me like larbars or hard-boiled eggs but by the time I get a chance to eat it, it's too close to dinner and I just hold out. Do you think it's better to hold out for dinner or snack whenever I get the chance? Anyone else have a chaotic and unpredictable job like me? Also, I love my job so please don't think I'm complaining, I just want to make sure I'm getting support so I make it to the end! Thanks for any feedback!

• Moderators

I'm sure there must be something in your training that indicates that you need to take care of yourself as a caregiver... I understand having a hectic job and I understand that sometimes there are crisis situations but this cannot be a standard... your team and your patients can't expect that you go 8-10 hours without eating. 

While its encouraged to make meal time a priority and sit down and concentrate on eating, that sometimes isn't possible... a meal can take about 10 min to eat and I firmly believe that you need to prioritize those 10 min.  You'll only be doing your patients and the rest of your team a service by making sure you're properly fueled and hydrated.  It can be easy to be sucked into 'I"m too busy to eat' but that's a cycle you don't want to get into.

What ways can we help you to find a way to eat that 10 min meal 4-5 hours after your breakfast?  Do you need easier options, on the run foods, strategies for how to ask for the 10 min?