doTERRA's carrageenan claims

mbrinva

I have been using doTERRA for about 6 months and have enjoyed some benefit from their products.  I had to stop using their On Guard soft gels and beadlets as well as the Omega soft gels once I started the Whole 30 due to the fact they have carrageenan in them.  My friend sent this link to me to demonstrate to me that I should not be worried.  I am skeptical but would love for someone with relevant knowledge to  sound off on this notion that there is a type of carrageenan that is not a concern since it is "not absorbed by the intestinal tract."

Thank you!

This is a question I have that goes beyond the Whole30. While the Whole 30 is what made me decide to stop using any carrageenan for now, based on what I've read so far, I am wanting to eliminate it entirely from my family's diet going forward (beyond the Whole30) unless there is a basis to the claims made by doTERRA (shared above).  So, I'm wondering if anyone has expertise in the area of carrageenan specifically.  Thanks.

Just because the FDA labels something as "generally recognized as safe" (GRAS) doesn't just up and give it a pass. The FDA also says that propylene glycol is GRAS as a food additive. So are all those artificial colors in candies and other food products. 

The actual FDA ruling on carrageenan is pretty unsettling. The conclusion of the Select Committee on GRAS Substances (SCOGS) states this:  While no evidence in the available information on undegraded carrageenan demonstrates a hazard to the public when it is used at levels that are now current and in the manner now practiced, uncertainties exist requiring that additional studies should be conducted.

That was in 1973. There were uncertainties then, and there haven't been any updates that I can find.