Out of gas running

Elizamamma

Hi there,

I'm new to the Whole30, on Day 8 of my first one and mostly feeling good. I'm a runner and am in training for a Ragnar relay race, which essentially means training for a half-marathon. Pre-whole30, before a long (6 miles or more) run I'd eat some kind of bread or a banana with peanut butter on it, and carry some electrolyte mix in my water bottle if it was a hot day.  Yesterday I was shooting for 9 miles (I've recently been running 8, so it shouldn't have been a stretch). I had an egg an hour before I went, and made it 6 miles before I started to feel completely gassed. I slogged through another couple of miles and then quit at 8, and then spent the rest of the afternoon lying on my kitchen floor feeling horrible.  I ate some roasted sweet potato and a hard boiled egg and had some coconut water, but it was hours of pounding headache and unhappy stomach.  I'm assuming I need to eat more before I go, but would love some help figuring it out. Please tell me every long run will not feel like this : /

Thanks for any advice,

Elizamamma

Working out/running always sucks early on in the Whole30. Just keep with the pre and post workout foods, and tough it out. Maybe shorten the runs a bit so you're not making yourself feel like you need to just lay on the floor afterward. Once your body's figured out where its fuel is coming from, your runs will pick back up.

So I'm not much of a runner -- 9 miles sounds like a really long way to me.  (I can do 7 alternating walking and running.)  However, a pounding headache and upset stomach after a run sounds like something that could be caused by dehydration, excess sun, or electrolyte imbalance.  All of which could be tied to a change in how you're eating, yes.  All of them can also be fairly serious if pushed too far, too.  So definitely ease off and see how things go.  The goal is to keep running, after all, rather than falling over.