My ancestors may not have lived in caves...

lilypad

But they certainly didn't eat the crap that I have been eating for the last 30+ years. I have been fad-dieting for the last 10 years since I started to gain some weight and in the process have gained even more weight. 10 lbs off, 15 lbs on, etc. Yet, I never got off the roller coaster of wanting to lose the weight overnight and all of a sudden be done and be able to eat an entire cheesecake in one sitting without gaining anything back.

I have had stomach and digestion issues for years, but still never made a huge effort to try to figure out how to fix it.

Reality set in within the last couple years ago though. I had gestational diabetes in my pregnancy (actually pretty common in Native Americans) and that increases my chance of getting diabetes later in life by a huge margin. I got my act together during pregnancy and my sugars were in line 100%, and in looking back, I was basically following the paleo diet, with the exception of a large amount of peanut butter. Amazingly, I felt great - better in my third trimester than I had in a really long time.

Post pregnancy, I stayed pretty good for the first year, but then the bad habits started getting back in and I gained a good amount of weight in the last year. Sadly, that didn't impact me as much as the fact that I woke up one night having indigestion so bad I would not have been surprised if it was a heart attack. That was a wake up call for me. The idea that bad choices could make me leave my daughter early woke me up to the fact that I needed to make a huge change.

I started researching and eating more cleaning, but still with high grain processed foods and lots of flour and sugar. The more I read, the more things lead to learning about paleo and it made sense to me. I decided to commit for a month and follow the Whole30 completely.