My Whole30 Journey - R1, June 1st Start

laurelerin22

I'm starting this log on Day 5 of my first Whole30 experience.  I have to say, I've received an amazing amount of support and encouragement from friends and family so far.  I posted on Facebook about two weeks ago and asked about Whole30.  The number of people who came out of the woodwork to talk about it was incredible.  Everyone had good things to say.  So I jumped in head first.  My start date was Thursday, June 1, 2017.  I tried  to prepare myself and meal prep, but coming off of Memorial Day weekend and an extra day off of work made the couple of days leading up to my start stressful and busy.  Luckily, I managed to put together compliant meals for Thursday and Friday, and then got a larger amount of shopping and prep done over the weekend.  Here are my observations thus far.  Starting today, I will try making a post every day.

About Me:

I'm a 38-year-old mom of 2 boys, ages 3 and 6.  I'm married and I work full-time as an engineer.  Life is very busy!  I try to fit in regular workouts, mostly either running or classes at Orange Theory, but it's usually only 3 times per week.  Since I got married 11 years ago, I've gained 30 lbs.  15 of that was what I call my "partied-my-way-through-my-20s" weight, and the other 15 lbs was put on from motherhood, and mostly from my second pregnancy.  I've always had a REALLY hard time losing weight, harder than most people, I think, although I am admittedly bad at dieting.  I also tend to use working out as an excuse to eat badly... I've been working out a lot the past few months and have GAINED weight - probably some of it is muscle, but I've been overeating, too.  I also have a penchant for overindulging in beer and wine.  My husband is a craft beer lover and homebrewer, and I love IPAs... Unfortunately, I think that stuff is ruining my health, and not just from the calories - I'm convinced that yeast is just terrible for your body.