Hello! Starting first round on June 8

Heather_r

Hi all,

I read the book over the past couple of weeks and decided to start today (June 8) since yesterday was the last day of teaching for the quarter (I'm a university professor) and I now have more time to make my own meals. I also view starting the Whole30 today as a reward after the school year, meaning I will finally privilege my own health again!

If anyone is also randomly starting today (I know, it's an odd day to start for most), I'd love to find some comrades.

@pwhitaker, great to hear! Is this your first time doing Whole30?

I'm already feeling my sugar cravings like a madwoman. But I knew this would happen, especially since I did what the book suggests against doing (binged on a lot of sugar over the past 2 days before having to get it up!)... Sigh, but from my times cutting out sugar, grains, and dairy (while on Paleo), I do know how much better I feel when I've cut these things out for an extended period of time.

@Laura Oldaker , hello! Congrats on getting through the first 3 days! Yeah, I guess there's some truth to things feeling brutal before getting better!

Is this your first time doing the Whole30?

Good luck to you, and definitely keep me updated about how things are going for you!

Hi, this is my second Whole30.  I did my first one in February. I started June 1st, but after a hot day at the park with my grandchildren I stopped and got us all a small shaved ice.  I was half way through mine when I realized I had messed up!  So, I am starting anew today.  I have restarted a few times this time.  I am not sure why the first one was easier than this time around.  Bacon wrapped shrimp over a bed of greens and artichoke hearts and half of a baked potato w/ ghee was a delicious compliant dinner.  Great ending for the first day.

@Sonniek, welcome back to Day 1 and bravo for getting back on that horse, as they say! :-) Your dinner sounds delicious!