Pure Wraps

Kirsteen

For those of you whou've tried Pure Wraps, are they any good? I gave up gluten about 12 years ago and the thing I've missed most, I think, is tortillas and wraps. I never found any gluten free ones really worth eating. I'm not going back to commercial gluten free food, it's so full of crap but I found a UK supplier for Pure Wraps.

Adding in the postage it's going to be quite expensive so it would only be for an odd treat. So basically before I order I'd like to know, are they worth eating, how long do they keep and do they freeze well?

• Moderators

I used a pack of them about a year ago. I bought another pack a few weeks ago, but haven't got around to using them yet. As I recall, they don't have much taste. They function as edible wrappers without adding much to the eating experience. I had trouble with the stuff I wrapped them with falling out and the eating process being a bit of a mess, but I have no experience creating wraps and I was probably trying to put too much in each wrap. They aren't very big.

I splurged and bought some. They are far from SWPO, slw600 (but you're so right that they are sometimes described like they are this good). Tom's post sums it up. If they were really great, they wouldn't be still sitting in my cabinet waiting to be used. I'll just take my Whole30 chicken salad, egg salad and such, straight out of a bowl - yum!

I would suggest getting a copy of Paleo Comfort Foods instead. Then you'll have the recipe and instructions for making their tortillas (egg whites and coconut flour only, if I remember correctly). They are good enough for breakfast wraps, enchiladas or even wrapping up some avocado tuna salad, but not so good that you'd eat them plain or anything. They do the job (and maybe are a better post-whole30 food if you have issues). Cheaper than pure wraps and you get all the other yummy recipes in the book as a bonus. ;)