First Whole30, started June 13

classicalgeek

I'm already on Day 7, but figured it's never too late to start documenting it online. So far, so good - I'm feeling fine for the most part, and I'm pretty sure my clothes are already fitting more comfortably.

An introduction first: I'm a 42-year-old guy living outside of Seattle, WA, happily married to an amazing, supportive wife, with a daughter who's almost 12 years old, and a son who will be 6 soon. By day I'm a software test engineer, though my background is in music (I'm a lover of all types of classical music, hence the handle), and I also enjoy time with the family, hiking, camping, and cooking (which comes in handy on a Whole30!)

I've had a complicated relationship with food and weight for most of my life. I've tended toward the heavy side - at 6-foot-2 with an average frame, I've topped out at 270 pounds, though I've been as low as 180 for my wedding 17 years ago. Currently I'm sitting at 254, up from a recent low of 193 four years ago - that culminated a loss of more than 70 pounds over two years. Medically, I'm predisposed to Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, hypertension, and kidney issues - they are pervasive on both sides of my family. I've also had near-daily headaches since I was seven years old; these will reach migraine-level pain a couple times a month.