I did it! First Whole 30

juni

This weekend I wrapped up my first whole 30!

Overall, I'd say it was definitely a good experience. Even though I had been adhering to a Paleo diet on and off since January of 2012, I realized that never in my life had I taken on the amount of restrictions as I did with this venture. Maybe "restrictions" isn't the best word, because it was more of a feeling of purity. I'd never been quite this good to myself before!

During non-Whole30 Paleo times, I continued to drink alcohol and although I occasionally longed for a margarita, I realized I really didn't miss it much at all! I haven't indulged in a drink yet even though I thought that would be the first thing I'd do. No plans to at this point but I'm not saying I can't when the mood strikes.

I have an Autoimmune disease--Hashimoto's Thyroiditis and I just did some blood work at the Doctor's on Friday. Not sure if there is any real room for improvement there---I have the disease, it's under control but I don't think it can be reversed at the stage I'm at...I do hope to maximize the medication I have to take to bring my levels up to snuff. I'm still trying to figure that all out...I will update on that later. I think some with thyroid issues have problems with the vlc stuff so I'm working my way through that as well. Not sure if I have the right protein/carb/fat combo yet.

Here are my most tangible stats:

Beginning Weight-I'm a 5'1 female btw-127

Ending Weight-122

Not a huge change but who cares about stupid scale numbers...I've been doing a lot of weights in the gym too so I'm quite happy with this. Getting my BF tested next week as my focus is on improving my body comp. Will update later.

Here are my measurements, which indicate to me that I had a good fat loss:

Waist-

before-28

after-26

Hips-

b-38.5

a-37

Calves-

b-14

a-13.75

Thigh (I always struggle to lose here so I was stoked to see this)

b-24

a-23.25

Upper Arm-(same story here)

b-11.75

a-11.25