Celiac Testing while eating Paleo

Minouki

Hello everyone!

I have been eating gluten free for about 6 months due to a gluten intolerance (positive IgG and anti-gliadin) and I decided to take it a bit further and began a Whole 30 about 10 days ago. I feel wonderful! I am sleeping like a baby, my stomach is flat, I feel happy... Imagine if I feel this way after 10 days, what it can do for my health in one month... This has been a true revelation.

However, I met with my gastroenterologist yesterday and he told me that I may have Celiac Disease and that I would need to do a gluten challenge for about 8 weeks (before a clonoscopy is done in January, the intestine has to be exposed to gluten for a while). The idea of having a disease and of eating gluten for 8 weeks is absolutely dreadful.

Now... Here's my dilemma. I was told that I needed to eat the equivalent of 2-3 slices of bread per day for these 8 weeks but I would like to stay as close as possible to my Whole 30 at the same time. I know this can sound contradictory but it seems that I have no choice...

Can you give me advice on how I can achieve my goals while staying as healthy as possible?

Thank you.

Minouki

Minouki -

In my (completely non-medical, non-official, and totally personal) opinion, you have two choices here.

First, let me ask you this: How will your life change if you are diagnosed Celiac (other than higher health insurance rates, if you are in the States)? I feel like I can ask you that, because I was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2005 and I wish I never had been. If I had known to change my diet then, I probably never would have. Eating this way has me living completely unmedicated and symptom-free (2 years now). My diagnosis has only gained me major medical bills, many doctors appointments, and higher insurance costs. If you are committed to living gluten free for the rest of your life, will a diagnosis gain you anything?