1st Time and Feeling Lethargic

Lowryn

Hello!  This is my first time attempting a round of whole30.  I just had my second baby about 4 months ago and desperately needed a reset with all of the junk I'd been eating.  I am on day 5 and am just not feeling great.  I feel run down and sort of out of it and hungry alllll day long no matter what I eat.  I've felt this way pretty much since day 2. Is this normal to start?  I am breast feeding as well so I'm not sure if that's effecting me too.  Anyways, just wondering if anyone else felt this way in the start and when I should start to feel better!

• Moderators
4 minutes ago, Lowryn said:

Hello!  This is my first time attempting a round of whole30.  I just had my second baby about 4 months ago and desperately needed a reset with all of the junk I'd been eating.  I am on day 5 and am just not feeling great.  I feel run down and sort of out of it and hungry alllll day long no matter what I eat.  I've felt this way pretty much since day 2. Is this normal to start?  I am breast feeding as well so I'm not sure if that's effecting me too.  Anyways, just wondering if anyone else felt this way in the start and when I should start to feel better!

Well, it's pretty normal to feel tired, but it's also pretty common that people aren't eating enough, which can add to the tired feeling. If you're hungry, you need to eat more.

As a nursing mom, you should be eating four full-sized template-based meals a day. So four times a day, you should be eating

• 1-2 palm-sized portions of protein (if eggs are your only protein in a meal, have as many whole eggs as you can hold in your hand, probably 3-4)
  • 1-2 thumb-sized portions of fat, or 1/2 to a whole avocado, or a heaping handful or two of olives or coconut flakes, or a closed handful of nuts, or 1/3 to 1/2 a can of full-fat coconut milk -- pick 1-2 of these in addition to what you cooked your food in