Round 2....

madness

In April of 2016, I did my first Whole30 which turned into a Whole80ish (I honestly stopped counting the days). I had stopped logging on here by day 67, but at that time, I wrote a success post. I'm glad I did so I can look back at it:

So, here's my 67 day wrap-up:

- psoriatic arthritis definitely on the mend! Not perfect, so it's a good reminder that reintroductions need to wait.

- sleep is amazing!

- energy levels are pretty good, I constantly forget starches and I think this is a major factor

- mood is much improved

- stronger nails

- no mindless snacking (I really didn't realize how often I did this - never in large binge-type quantities, but a little here and there ALL THE TIME!)

- I reached 10,000 steps easily a day - I now walk to work again, something that was daunting a few months ago. 

- I started lifting weights! It's been since pre-kids that I did that. I'm still sooo weak!  :P

AND...I've lost 25 lbs!

By the end of the journey, I had lost 30 lbs and my arthritis pain was basically gone. I was still ridiculously weak! I never did reintroductions properly. I basically went straight to an 80/20 lifestyle.  No "symptoms" returned - all my NSV held fast and I didn't gain weight. But I still had weight to lose, so I tried to go back to a strict Whole30 several times. Maybe 4 or 5 times. It was embarrassing that I couldn't do it!  After going completely off the rails by this spring, I finally got my act together to get back to 80/20 ish. I had a lot of travel planned for the summer and knew that Whole30 just wasn't going to be viable while visiting relatives. So I did the best I could. I actually lost 8 lbs on my 3 week road trip! That was even more encouraging to start once I got back. But the stress of summer and kids took it's toll and I ended up gaining back 5 of those lbs by the end. So I had my heart set on the first day of school being the first day of my ACTUAL second Whole30. No more "trying".