Nursing Mama - Starting Today!

TrayS

A little about me: I am a Whole30 veteran. I did my first Whole30 in August 2012 and have done about 1-2 per year since with varying levels of less healthy habits sneaking back in between. I always know I can return to the Whole30 when I need to, and right now I need to. I've been eating sugar daily and redeveloped a wine-with-dinner habit. Both have become more compulsive than intentional. Also, as mom of a 1-year-old I am not sleeping optimally, I am always tired, and lately my 2pm slumps have been atrocious. I know I need to be eating cleaner in order to feel better all the time. I am nursing said 1-year-old about 8x per day still, so I will need to make sure I am eating enough food to sustain us both, although I did learn some lessons here with my last Whole30 when my son was 4 months old. Specifically, I know I have to eat 4 meals per day instead of 3. Also, this time, I am not eating eggs because a few months ago I started suffering stomach pain during the day and realized that my 3-egg breakfast was the culprit. Specifically, I believe I don't tolerate egg whites well. I first realized this a few years ago when I tried Rx bars and couldn't eat them due to similar stomach pain. I always did fine with whole eggs though until recently. I am hoping it is simply a postpartum food sensitivity that will go away with time, and fortunately, I still can tolerate small amounts of eggs as an ingredient. But in the meantime, time to get creative with breakfast....

Day 0 (I am calling today Day 0 instead of Day 1. You will soon see why.)